Home > Newsletter > Domed Penny Buttons

Domed Penny Buttons

EPBOT posted a tutorial on making domed penny buttons. I gave it a try and thought I’d share what I learned in the process.

The first thing I did was hammer the pennies into shape, using a doming set and a mallet. I would suggest using a heavy mallet because it does take a little oomph to get the pennies into shape. However, the new pennies are somewhat flimsy, and can at times crack:

One of these cracked on the first tap of the mallet. The other cracked when I was in the middle of shaping it. I’d suggest bringing more pennies to your project area than you plan on using.

Once you have your pennies domed, you’ll need to attach an O ring to the back of it using epoxy putty.

Make sure your are working in a well ventilated area before you start working with the putty. It has a strong smell. Also, work quickly because the putty will harden to your fingers faster than you may imagine it will. Scraping slightly hardened epoxy putty off your fingers can leave them feeling a bit raw. If you are making a lot of pennies, I’d suggest taking breaks every few pennies to clean epoxy off your fingers.

When the epoxy is dry, your buttons are complete!

Penny buttons are great for costuming military looks. EPBOT used hers on curtains, while I used mine on a cardigan sweater. What about you? Have you tried making penny buttons before? If so, what did you use them for?

I’m always on the hunt for more tutorials to try out. Do you have one you’d like to share? Please post about it in the comments or email me at torforge@gmail.com.

-Jen

…………………………

From the March issue of Tor’s Steampunk newsletter. Sign up to receive our newsletter via email.

…………………………

More from the Steampunk issue:

  1. JAMES P LYNAM
    March 15, 2011 at 1:01 pm

    I am loking forward to making some DOMED PENNIES in my retirement
    as a hobby.

  2. March 15, 2011 at 10:42 pm

    What is a doming set? Where do you get it and the epoxy putty? I’d love to try this out!

  3. March 16, 2011 at 11:53 am

    Here’s where I got my doming set: http://bit.ly/domingset and they have a tutorial on their site that will show you how you use it. Some hardware stores will also carry them. I’ve also seen some up on Etsy: http://etsy.me/gvEmcI

    You can get Epoxy putty at a local hardware store. I got mine at Home Depot because there’s one near the office. It comes in a little tube. http://bit.ly/epoxyputty

    Good luck with the project! If you have any questions along the way, please let me know.

    -Jen

  1. March 15, 2011 at 12:25 pm

Leave a Reply

